

REGIONAL DISTRICT OF OKANAGAN-SIMILKAMEEN

Planning and Development Committee

Thursday, October 19, 2023

RDOS Boardroom

101 Martin Street, Penticton, BC V2A 5J9

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair R. Knodel, Electoral Area "C"

Vice-Chair M. Taylor, Electoral Area "D"
Director J. Bloomfield, City of Penticton
Director G. Bush, Electoral Area "B"
Director B. Coyne, Electoral Area "H"
Director S. Coyne, Town of Princeton
Director A. Fedrigo, Electoral Area "E"
Director R. Gettens, Electoral Area "F"

Director R. Graham, City of Penticton
Director D. Holmes, District of Summerland

MEMBERS ABSENT: Director J. Miller, City of Penticton

Director M. Van Alphen, District of Summerland

STAFF PRESENT: B. Newell, Chief Administrative Officer

C. Garrish, Senior Manager of Planning
L. Bloomfield, Senior Manager of Utilities

Director C. Watt, City of Penticton

Director M. Johansen, Town of Oliver

Director H. Konanz, City of Penticton

Director S. McKortoff, Town of Osoyoos

Director S. Monteith, Electoral Area "I"

Director T. Roberts, Electoral Area "G"

Director J. Wiebe, Village of Keremeos

Alt. Director I. Gilbert, City of Penticton

Director M. Pendergraft, Electoral Area "A"

Alt. Director R. Barkwill, District of Summerland

C. Malden, Senior Manager of Legislative ServicesM. Petry, Senior Manager of Building and Enforcement

S. Duong, Planner II

The meeting was called to order at 10:59 am.

A. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Agenda for the Planning and Development Committee Meeting of October 19, 2023 be adopted.-CARRIED

B. Q3 Activity Report – Planning and Development Services

The Senior Manager of Building and Enforcement and Senior Manager or Planning Services presented the Planning and Development Services Q3 report.

C. Regulating the Creation of New Private Utilities – For Discussion

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT amendments to the Regional District's Official Community Plan (OCP), Zoning and Subdivision Servicing bylaws be initiated in order to prohibit the development of new private

utilities.-CARRIED

Opposed: Directors S. Coyne, Fedrigo, Gilbert

D. Subdivision Servicing Bylaw Review – Campground Regulation Bylaw

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen Campground Regulations Bylaw No. 2779, 2018, be kept at status quo.-**DEFEATED**

Opposed: Directors Barkwill, Bloomfield, Fedrigo, Gettens, Gilbert, Graham, Holmes, Konanz, McKortoff, Monteith, Pendergraft, Roberts, Taylor

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen Campground Regulations Bylaw No. 2779, 2018, be repealed in conjunction with the introduction of a new Subdivision and Development Servicing Bylaw; and

THAT the Electoral Area zoning bylaws be amended to require:

- 1. a campground use be connected to a community water system and community sewer system;
- a second access from a public highway, separated by at least 50.0 metres from the first access be provided to each campground use containing greater than fifty (50) camping spaces.-CARRIED

Opposed: Director B. Coyne

E. Subdivision Servicing Bylaw Review – Manufactured Home Park Regulation Bylaw

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Bylaw No. 2597, 2012, the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen Manufactured Home Park Regulations, be repealed in conjunction with the introduction of a new Subdivision Servicing Bylaw; and

THAT the land use bylaws be amended to require:

- 1. a manufactured home park development be connected to a community water system and community sewer system;
- a second access from a public highway, separated by at least 60.0 meters from the first access be provided to each manufactured home park use containing greater than fifty (50) homes;
- internal access "roadway" requirements, such as minimum widths (including paved width), cul-de-sac turning radius, grade and length.-CARRIED

Opposed: Director B. Coyne, S. Coyne

F. ADJOURNMENT

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the meeting adjourn at 12:25 pm.-CARRIED

| APPROVED: "Original signed by:" | CERTIFIED CORRECT: "Original signed by:" |
|---------------------------------|--|
| R. Knodel, Chair | Corporate Officer |