

## REGIONAL DISTRICT OF OKANAGAN-SIMILKAMEEN

# **Planning and Development Committee**

# Thursday, May 9, 2024 RDOS Boardroom 101 Martin Street, Penticton, BC V2A 5J9

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair R. Knodel, Electoral Area "C"

Vice-Chair J. Wiebe, Village of Keremeos Director Bloomfield, City of Penticton Director G. Bush, Electoral Area "B" Director B. Coyne, Electoral Area "H" Director S. Coyne, Town of Princeton Director A. Fedrigo, Electoral Area "E" Director R. Gettens, Electoral Area "F" Director R. Graham, City of Penticton

Director D. Holmes, District of Summerland

Director S. McKortoff, Town of Osoyoos
Director S. Monteith, Electoral Area "I"
Director M. Pendergraft, Electoral Area "A"
Director T. Roberts, Electoral Area "G"
Director M. Taylor, Electoral Area "D"
Director M. Van Alphen, District of Summerland

Alt. Director I. Gilbert, City of Penticton

Director M. Johansen, Town of Oliver

MEMBERS ABSENT: Director C. Watt, City of Penticton

Director J. Miller, City of Penticton

Director H. Konanz, City of Penticton

STAFF PRESENT: J. Zaffino, CAO

B. Kent, Planner II

M. Aucoin, Coordinator, Legislative Services

S. Duong, Planner II

The meeting was called to order at 9:06am.

#### A. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Agenda for the Planning and Development Committee Meeting of May 9, 2024 be adopted.-CARRIED

## B. Okanagan Basin Water Board - Draft Sewerage Facilities Assistance Grants Terms of Reference

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the OBWB be requested to amend its Draft Sewerage Facilities Assistance Grants Terms of Reference in order to:

 allow detached accessory dwellings on parcels less than 1.0 ha in area when they are connected to the same on-site private sewage system servicing the principal dwelling;

- replace references to "sewer systems provided as a service by a municipality or regional district" with "community sewers" at the proposed Section 4.6.2;
- the following be introduced as a reporting requirement under Section 6.0 (Application Policies):

"Applicants must provide a list of all adopted amendment bylaws and issued permits approved by the local government in the previous calendar year, if any, that provided exceptions and/or variances to the bylaw regulations that relate to the OBWB's '1.0 ha Policy'."

- that the following types of subdivisions be included as exemptions under Section 4.0 (Eligibility):
  - a. a subdivision that does not create any additional parcels and only results in road or park dedications or an adjustment of boundaries between existing parcels.
  - b. a subdivision of a parcel to accommodate unattended equipment necessary for the operation of a utility use.
  - c. a subdivision of a parcel to accommodate the following:
    - i. a wildlife management area designated under the Wildlife Act;
    - ii. a park preserved in its natural state and having no buildings or structures; or
    - iii. natural area conservation, provided that the parcel is transferred to a government entity or a non-governmental organization and also charged by a covenant prohibiting the construction of buildings and structures of all types.-CARRIED

#### **OPPOSED: Director S. McKortoff**

Director Konanz joined the meeting at 9:30 am.

## C. Small-Scale Multi-Unit Housing (SSMUH) Implementation – Extension Request

The board agreed by consensus to separate the motions.

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT an "Application to Request an Extension to SSMUH Compliance Deadline" be submitted to the Minister of Housing in relation to those lands comprised within the Faulder Water System Service Area.-CARRIED

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Electoral Area "D" Official Community Plan Bylaw No. 2603, 2013, and Okanagan Valley Zoning Bylaw No. 2800, 2022, be amended in order to reduce permitted residential densities within the areas served by both the Vintage Views Wastewater System and Lakeshore Waterworks.-CARRIED

# **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the meeting adjourn at 9:45 am.-CARRIED

APPROVED: "Original signed by:"	CERTIFIED CORRECT: "Original signed by:"
R. Knodel, Chair	C. Malden, Corporate Officer