

# REGIONAL DISTRICT OF OKANAGAN-SIMILKAMEEN BOARD of DIRECTORS MEETING

## Thursday, August 18, 2022 RDOS Boardroom 101 Martin Street, Penticton, BC V2A 5J9

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chair M. Pendergraft, Electoral Area "A"
Vice Chair S. Coyne, Town of Princeton
Director K. Kozakevich, Electoral Area "E"
Director M. Bauer, Village of Keremeos
Director G. Bush, Electoral Area "B"
Director B. Coyne, Electoral Area "H"
Director R. Gettens, Electoral Area "F"

Director M. Johansen, Town of Oliver

Alt. Director J. Bloomfield, City of Penticton

Director S. Monteith, Electoral Area "I"

Director R. Knodel, Electoral Area "C"
Director R. Obirek, Electoral Area "D"
Director T. Roberts, Electoral Area "G"

Director K. Robinson, City of Penticton
Director J. Sentes, City of Penticton

Director R. Gettens, Electoral Area "F" Director E. Trainer, District of Summerland Director D. Holmes, District of Summerland Director J. Vassilaki, City of Penticton

Director S. McKortoff, Town of Osoyoos

MEMBERS ABSENT: Director C. Watt, City of Penticton

STAFF PRESENT: B. Newell, Chief Administrative Officer

C. Malden, Manager of Legislative Services

The meeting was called to order at 12:00 pm.

## A. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

That the Agenda for the RDOS Board Meeting of August 18, 2022 be adopted.-CARRIED

A.1 Consent Agenda – Corporate Issues

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Consent Agenda Corporate Services be adopted.-CARRIED

- 1. Advisory Planning Commissions
  - 1. 20220711 APC A MIN-Minutes

THAT the Minutes of the July 11, 2022 Electoral Area "A" APC meeting be received.

2. 20220719 APC C MIN-Minutes

THAT the Minutes of the July 19, 2022 Electoral Area "C" APC meeting be received.

#### 20220820 APC I MIN-Minutes

THAT the Minutes of the July 20, 2022 Electoral Area "I" APC meeting be received.

2. Community Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the August 4, 2022 Community Services Committee meeting be received.

3. Corporate Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the August 4, 2022 Corporate Services Committee meeting be received.

4. Environment and Infrastructure Committee

THAT the Minutes of the August 4, 2022 Environment and Infrastructure Committee meeting be received.

5. RDOS Regular Board Meeting

THAT the minutes of the August 4, 2022 RDOS Regular Board meeting be adopted.

## B. DEVELOPMENT SERVICES – Rural Land Use Matters

B.1 Agricultural Land Commission Referral (Non-Farm Use) – Electoral Area "C" (C2022.008-ALC)

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the application to continue operating an eating and drinking establishment as a non-farm use on the parcel located at 3692 Fruitvale Way be "authorized" to proceed to the Agricultural Land Commission. -CARRIED

B.2 Zoning Bylaw Amendment – Electoral Area "C" (C2022.009-ZONE)

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT Bylaw No. 2800.14, 2022, a bylaw to amend the Okanagan Valley Zoning Bylaw to allow for eight livestock to be kept on the property at 479 Johnson Crescent in Willowbrook be denied.-CARRIED

B.3 Zoning Bylaw Amendment – Electoral Area "A", "C", "D", "E", "F", and "I" (X2022.007-ZONE)

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT Bylaw No. 2800.02, 2022, a bylaw to amend the Okanagan Valley Zoning Bylaw to introduce new regulations and definitions for "mobile vendors", be adopted.-CARRIED

## C. FINANCE

C.1 Administrative Overhead Policy Amendments

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Administrative Overhead Policy be adopted as amended.-CARRIED

## D. LEGISLATIVE SERVICES

D.1 South Okanagan Conservation Fund-Technical Advisory Committee Appointments

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Board of Directors extend the appointments of the following as volunteer members of the South Okanagan Conservation Fund Technical Advisory Committee.

Two year term ending December 31, 2023

- Orville Dyer
- Darcy Henderson
- Ellen Simmons
- Laura Machial
- Timothy Grey
- Tara White-CARRIED

## E. CAO REPORTS

- E.1 Verbal Update
- E.2 Wildfire Update:

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the Board extend the declaration of the state of local emergency for Area "I" until August 18, 2022.-CARRIED

#### F. OTHER BUSINESS

- F.1 Chair's Report
- F.2 Board Representation
  - 1. Municipal Finance Authority *Pendergraft (Chair), Coyne (Vice Chair, Alternate)*
  - 2. Municipal Insurance Association *Pendergraft (Chair), Coyne (Vice Chair, Alternate)*

- 3. Okanagan Basin Water Board McKortoff, Holmes, Knodel, Pendergraft (Alternate to McKortoff), Obirek (Alternate to Holmes), Monteith (Alternate to Knodel)
- 4. Okanagan Film Commission Gettens, Obirek (Alternate)
- 5. Okanagan Regional Library *Monteith, Obirek (Alternate)*
- 6. Okanagan-Kootenay Sterile Insect Release Board Bush, Pendergraft (Alternate)
- 7. Southern Interior Municipal Employers Association *Knodel, Pendergraft* (*Alternate*)
- 8. Starling Control Bush, Knodel (Alternate)
- 9. Fire Chief Liaison Committee Pendergraft, Knodel, Monteith, Obirek, Roberts
- 10. Intergovernmental Indigenous Joint Council Pendergraft, Coyne, Roberts
- 11. Okanagan-Similkameen Regional Hospital District *Johansen, McKortoff* (*Alternate*)
- F.3 Directors Motions
- F.4 Board Members Verbal Update

#### G. CLOSED SESSION

#### **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT in accordance with Section 90(1)(e) of the *Community Charter*, the Committee close the meeting to the public on the basis of the acquisition, disposition or expropriation of land or improvements, if the council considers that the disclosure could reasonably be expected to harm the interests of the municipality.-**CARRIED** 

The Board entered a closed session at 12:46 pm and returned at 12:49 pm.

## H. ADJOURNMENT

## **MOVED and SECONDED**

THAT the meeting adjourn at 12:49 pm.-CARRIED

APPROVED:	CERTIFIED CORRECT:
"Original signed by:"	"Original signed by:"
M. Pendergraft, Chair	B. Newell Corporate Officer