

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT

TO: Board of Directors

FROM: B. Newell, Chief Administrative Officer

DATE: July 6, 2023

RE: Okanagan Falls Incorporation Study Committee Member Appointments

Administrative Recommendation:

THAT the following individuals be appointed as members of the Okanagan Falls Incorporation Study Committee:

Rick Wilson
 Debbie Rose
 Eugene Dettling
 Ian Bowen
 Kelvin Hall
 Randy Ludwar
 Judy Garner
 Eleanor Walker
 Marcel Olsthoorn

- Kea Adachi

Reference:

RDOS Okanagan Falls Incorporation Study Terms of Reference Call for Committee Members

Background:

On March 23, 2023, the Minister of Municipal Affairs confirmed support for the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen to undertake an incorporation study, including an estimate of financial impacts, a full community discussion, and an independent road assessment of provincial roads. The study will provide electors within the study area with the information and understanding required to make an informed decision on incorporation.

A Terms of Reference for the study was adopted April 6, 2023. The first step in the process was the recruitment of a committee to guide the study.

Analysis:

A request for Expressions of Interest was advertised extensively around Okanagan Falls inviting eligible electors to submit their interest in serving on the Okanagan Falls Incorporation Study Committee.

At the close of the process, ten applications were received. Administration, the Electoral Area Director, and the RDOS Board Chair met to discuss criteria and rationale for committee selection.



In addition to the requirement to be an elector within the incorporation study area, consideration was given to each applicant's past experience and their commitment to bringing an open-minded approach to matters which will be brought before the committee.

Following committee appointments, the next steps will be committee orientation, which has been tentatively scheduled for July 12, 2023.

Alternatives:

1. Reject the appointments and go back out for applications

Communication Strategy:

An information release will be distributed with a list of committee members and the chosen contractors for the Governance and Community Engagement RFPs.

Respectfully submitted:

"Christy Malden"

C. Malden, Manager of Legislative Services